Was reading thru the combat section when I came across a conundrum. Effectively, all combat is opposed skill rolls. Success of skill rolls is based on players rolling under their skill value and the higher of the two wins the opposition. The question I have is does the automatic critical rule of 00 still apply?
For instance, lets say an attacker has a Beam Weapons of 55 and rolls 52. The target defends by rolling Fray and rolls 00. According the the rules, they both succeeded, but 52 is the higher roll. The 52 should hit, but 00 is an automatic critical success.
So in this case, who would be declared the victor? I dont remember reading that tie goes to the defender, and have been back and forth wondering how I will handle this when I start running EP.
Or is the critical success rule negated when 00 is rolled for defense (henceforth making 00 a critical failure in the above example)?
"Thru the Darkness You Find the Light." -- Seraphim Shock